We're very excited about our new "Smart Sync/Smart Save" feature!
Syncing and saving between your device and the FTQ360 servers is now totally automatic and handled in the background when you have an internet connection. You can move from one inspection to the next without worrying about whether your connection was disrupted, or if you have files that have not finished uploading.
Syncing to Server & Saving to Device
When you start a new inspection, you'll see a blue "SAVE" button.
- The blue save button means that there are changes that haven't synced to the server or to your device yet.
- The inspection will auto-sync every 10 seconds.
When the inspection has synced to the server, you'll see a message that states, "Synced to Server."
When the inspection has saved to your device (because you're offline or have a poor internet connection), you will see a message that states, "Saved to Device."
To reload the data on the screen, click the "Refresh" icon at the bottom of the page. This will pull the latest data from the server and display it on your screen. (Note: Refreshing will remove the local data on the inspection that has not been synced to server. Click the Save button if you have unsaved data!)
Inspection "refresh" icon turns orange - If two people make edits on the same inspection, the changes will be combined on the server side and not on each individual device. Thus, the version you have on your device might be different than the one on the server. If this is the case, (and the changes were made by another user, not you on another device) the inspection "refresh" icon at the bottom of the page will turn orange.
Inspection "Refresh" warning message - FTQ will never automatically overwrite the version of an inspection that you have on your local device with the version that is on the server, whether it is the same or different than the version you have on your local device. You must manually refresh your local version by clicking the "Refresh" icon at the bottom right of the inspection. You will see the message below:
Saving to Device when Working Offline
When you work offline, the inspection will auto-save to your device every 10 seconds.
If the blue SAVE button is seen, the latest changes haven't been saved to your device yet. You can either keep working and let auto-save handle it, or click "SAVE" and the changes will save to your device.
Once the inspection is saved to your device, you will see a message that states, "Saved to Device." This means all the current data on the inspection screen is saved there. FTQ360 will auto-save your data every 10 seconds.
You can begin a new inspection without syncing the current inspection to the server. All inspection data will save locally to your device, and will sync automatically to the server once you go back to online mode.
A badge on the red (green when online) connectivity status bars indicates the number of inspections on the device that need to be synced to the server.
When you go back online, the inspections from the device will automatically sync to the server. You will see a "Refresh/Syncing" icon on the green connectivity status bars while the sync is in process.
The number of inspections waiting to sync indicated on the badge will reduce. Once it is displaying a green checkmark, you'll know that all the inspections saved to your device have been synced to the server.